Lifestyle & Culture / Scripture

My New Years Resolution: Having a Servant’s Heart

New-Year_Resolutions_listI blatantly claimed 2013 the year to focus on myself. I was a busy little college girl running around trying to make an awesome resume and applying for big girl jobs. Toward the end it turned from focusing on myself to being an unemployed selfish little brat. I pictured myself living in an apartment with a full time job and having some sort of ginger man at my side. I looked out for what was best for me and could not be bothered by how it affected the people I love.

Now that 2014 is upon us I came up with a resolution. While I do want to shed some weight I have a resolution that means more to me than just my physical appearance. This year I want to have a servant’s heart and shy away from my selfish ways.

To me having a servant’s heart consists of putting others before yourself because it is what Jesus does for you. I want to revert back to this selfless state, before all of my selfish tendencies got in the way.

Therefore, my motto for the year of 2014 will be:

“Do nothing out of selfishness or out of vainglory; rather, humbly regard others as more important than yourselves, each looking out not for his own interest, but also everyone for those of others. Have among yourselves the same attitude that is also yours in Christ” Philippians 2:3-5

I pray all of you find hope, joy and adventure in 2014 but I also challenge you to be more like Christ in your thoughts, actions, and words.

From the girls at Fiat, have a happy new year!

By: Kelly

2 thoughts on “My New Years Resolution: Having a Servant’s Heart

  1. Pingback: 2014 Happy! By Elaine Davenport January 1, 2014 | A Thankful Heart !

  2. Pingback: A NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS | pinchofgrace

Leave a Reply

